East Ridge Personal Injury Lawyer

When you are severely injured, fear of the unknown and overwhelming stress often becomes all-consuming. An experienced East Ridge personal injury lawyer could work hard to seek justice against those responsible for your damages. A seasoned attorney could also seek to recover compensation on your behalf for expenses such as medical bills, lost income, pain, and suffering.

Who Is at Fault in an East Ridge Personal Injury Case?

Whether the plaintiff’s case involves a slip and fall, auto accident, bicycle crash, or other personal injury incident, Tennessee courts adhere to the modified comparative fault rule when assigning liability. Sometimes, the injured individual files a personal injury claim or lawsuit after an accident, only to be met by an accusation from the other party that they were partially to blame.
Provided the injured party is found to be less than 50 percent to blame, they could still recover some level of compensation for their damages. However, if they are found to be 50 percent or more at fault for the accident, they would be unable to collect damages from the other party.

Strict Liability in Dog Bite Attacks

Dog bite attacks are an exception to Tennessee’s comparative fault rule. Some states protect dog owners to a certain extent from liability the first time their animal injures someone, provided they had no prior cause to believe their dog presented a danger to others.

Often called the “one bite” rule, Tennessee Code Annotated §44-8-413 makes dog owners strictly liable for any injuries their animal inflicts regardless of the dog’s prior behavior. A personal injury attorney in East Ridge would work tirelessly to hold the negligent dog owner responsible for the damages their animal caused and pursue fair compensation for the bite victim.

Time Limits to File an East Ridge Personal Injury Lawsuit

Tennessee’s statute of limitations places a time limit on how long plaintiffs have to file a case with the courts after an injury or accident. T.C.A. §28-3-104 establishes the statutory deadlines applicable to personal injury lawsuits in the state.

Personal injury cases in Tennessee are subject to a one-year statutory deadline. The injured party must file their lawsuit within one year of the accident, or the court could refuse to hear their case. A three-year time limit applies to property damage claims.

Damage Caps in Personal Injury Cases

Tennessee law caps the non-economic damages a plaintiff could recover in a personal injury lawsuit at $750,000. Examples of non-economic damages include:

  • Emotional distress
  • Psychological injuries
  • Pain and suffering
  • Loss of life enjoyment
  • Loss of consortium

In cases involving catastrophic injuries, such as severe burns, amputation of a limb, or death of a parent of a minor child’s, the damage caps are elevated to $1 million per person. In rare instances, the court may also decide to award the injured party punitive damages to punish the defendant and deter future behavior. Punitive damages are capped at $500,000, or twice the amount of compensatory damages awarded (whichever figure is higher).

The law does not place a limit on economic damages. Common economic damages an East Ridge personal injury attorney could help the injured victim recover include lost wages, future lost income, medical expenses, and property damage costs.

Call Now to Speak with an East Ridge Personal Injury Attorney

If you are facing the reality of a life-altering and devastating injury or loss because of another person’s negligence, you deserve to have zealous and accomplished representation each step of the way. Call now to arrange your consultation and find out how an East Ridge personal injury lawyer could help.