Whitfield County Medical Malpractice Lawyer

Medical malpractice can occur at any medical facility. There are also many types of medical malpractice, each of which has the potential to result in very serious complications that could even turn deadly. As a result, medical malpractice is particularly deadly and widespread in the state of Tennessee. If you suffered an injury from medical malpractice in Tennessee, a Whitfield County medical malpractice lawyer could help. An experienced personal injury attorney can help you navigate this very difficult time and seek the damages you deserve.

Types Medical Malpractice in Whitfield County

As a Whitfield County medical malpractice lawyer has seen, any healthcare practitioner can commit medical malpractice. Some of the professions most frequently charged with committing medical malpractice include:

  • Anesthesiologists
  • Chiropractors
  • Cosmetic surgeons
  • Dentists
  • Nursing home caregivers
  • OB/GYN
  • Orthopedic Surgeons
  • Psychiatrists

There are many ways a person can suffer harm from medical malpractice and face serious complications. Some common types of medical malpractice are birth injuries, wrongly prescribed drugs, incorrect diagnoses, surgical errors, and incorrect treatment of an illness.

What Are Signs of Medical Negligence?

Many people have a challenging time determining whether they are even a victim of medical malpractice. The best indication that medical malpractice occurred is if the results of a surgery or treatment are not close to what they should have been. For example, if a patient had back surgery and was in even more pain than before. Medical staff later comment on inadequate treatment provided by another medical professional. It is not uncommon for co-workers toward co-workers with information after a claim.

Damage Caps for Medical Malpractice Cases

Tennessee places a cap on medical malpractice damages. While Whitfield County limits non-economic damages like pain and suffering, the state does not limit economic damages for things like lost wages and medical bills. A person can collect no more than $750,000 in non-economic damages for all types of medical malpractice.

However, courts in Whitfield County make an exception on these damage caps for catastrophic injuries. Catastrophic injuries include amputations of either hands or feet, severe spinal cord injuries, third degree burns that cover more than 40 percent of a person’s body, and the wrongful death of a child or parent of a minor child.

Tennessee’s medical malpractice damage cap also does not apply in some situations including when the medical professional intended to inflict serious physical injury, intentionally destroyed or falsified records containing material evidence, or was acting under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Seeking the Help of an Attorney

In any medical malpractice case in Whitfield County, a person must prove the standard of medical care in the industry, that the healthcare professional failed to meet the community’s standard of care, and that the patient suffered harm because of this breach of the standard of care.

The tragedy of medical malpractice is that it often creates totally preventable injuries. People entrust medical professionals with their lives and rely on them to exercise extreme care. When they fail to do so, the results can be extremely harmful and even lethal. A Whitfield County medical malpractice lawyer may be able to help. They could review the facts of your case and help advise you what damages you can recover.